It can be assumed that the gummy bear originates from Germany where it is hugely popular under the name Gummibär (rubber bear). The German company Haribo first produced bear-shaped sweets in 1922 and introduced its Gold-Bear product in the 1960s. The success of gummy bears has spawned many gummy animals and objects: worms, frogs, hamburgers, etc.
The traditional gummy bear is made from natural ingredients: sugar, glucose syrup, starch, flavours, colors, citric acid and gelatin. There are also some types of gummi bears made with pectin instead of gelatin, making them suitable for vegetarians.