Vegetarian cuisineVegetarian cuisine
is food that satisfies vegetarian
principles. This means food free from ingredients like meat, meat broth, cheeses that use animal rennet
, even some sugars.
Although not essential, certain special ingredients have often been associated with vegetarian cuisine — the most popular being tofu. Although tofu plays a key role in many mock dishes, a person can be vegetarian for life and never touch it.
Ignoring the different types of vegetarians (e.g., ovo-lacto vs. vegan), one can roughly divide vegetarian cuisine into 2 categories:
- Meat analogues, cuisine that uses mock meats.
- Cuisine that are "naturally" vegetarian.
Cuisine that Uses Meat Analogues
These are vegetarian versions of popular dishes that non-vegetarians enjoy and are frequently consumed as fast food, comfort food, transition food for new vegetarians, or a way to show non-vegetarians that they can be vegetarians while still enjoying their favorite foods. Many vegetarians just enjoy these dishes as part of a varied diet. However a few see their use as "cheating".
Some popular mock dishes include:
See also Chinese Buddhist cuisine
- Veggie burgers (usually made from soy or grain)
- Veggie dogs (usually made from soy)
- Veggie chilli (usually made from soy or other beans)
- Veggie haggis (usually made with oatmeal, pulses, nuts, and vegetables)
Some ingredients commonly used in this cuisine:
Cuisine that's "Naturally" Vegetarian
These are dishes that non-vegetarians normally eat or dishes that can be made vegetarian by substitution of minor ingredients. Such dishes include:
- Spaghetti with marinara sauce
- Macaroni and cheese (provided the cheese isn't made with animal rennet)
- Bean burritos (without lard in the refried beans)
- Vegetable soups (only vegetable broth)
- Many desserts (cake, ice cream, etc.)